Jump Cuts: Creative sound and cinema

Over the past three weekends I took part in a course known as ‘Jump Cuts: Creative sound and cinema’. The aim of this course was to create a visual documentary with a sustainability theme. I will now talk about what I did during each session.

Saturday 13th April 2013

On this day I arrived at the Cambridge Arts Picturehouse at 8:55 am. I was introduced to Ryd, the teacher, and the other participants. We started the course by watching a documentary entitled ‘Samsara’. Ryd said that we would use it as inspiration for our film project. Soon he gave us lessons on the role of directing and sound in film, the three different types of documentaries (explanatory/expository,observational and experimental) and how to use a DSLR camera. Afterwards we went around the cinema taking random shots in order to get to grips with the cameras and we ended the session by looking at the videos recorded by each group. We finished at 16:00.

Sunday 14th April 2013

I arrived at the Arts Picturehouse at 11am. This day we met James, a sound designer who taught us about amplitude, tempo and texture. We looked at clips from various movies to see how they were utilized. Later we learnt how to manipulate sound recording devices, such as a boom. We went around the cinema to record sounds including me shouting my name at three different distances. James also showed us how to make a beat using a MIDI keyboard and each of us had a go at it. By the end of the session (16:00) we had a track comprising all the beats.

Saturday 20th April 2013

On this day Ryd, James and my fellow participants went to record videos and sounds at a farm in Lode. I didn’t go because I attended a Corpus Christi college open day.

Sunday 21st April 2013

We were at the Arts Picturehouse from 11am till 4pm. Ryd gave us lessons on how to edit videos using Final Cut Pro. We were then divided into groups. Me and my partner arranged and edited clips recorded the day before under the theme of ‘machinery’. Ryd advised us to keep watching our montage again and again and make changes if necessary. Afterwards we all looked at each group’s final product before finishing at 16:00.

Saturday 27th April 2013

This was our last session at the Arts Picturehouse. I came in at 11:05 and immediately, I was given the task of editing and arranging videos from a week ago under the theme of ‘nature’ with the same participant as the previous Sunday. Afterwards we observed Ryd as he was putting together a rough cut of the visual documentary and gave him tips as to which clips to use. In the afternoon, James gave us an introduction to a music software called Logic Pro. Each member was then given a chance to make a sound beat with a MIDI keyboard. Before the session ended at 16:00 we watched the rough cut created by Ryd and discussed the possible soundtrack.

Sunday 28th April 2013

For the final session we went to Anglia Ruskin University. We used Logic Pro to put into practice what we learnt the day before. James also taught a few new things such as how to make a tempo. After lunch, we were divided into groups. Each one had to produce a soundtrack for the visual documentary. We put an end to the course by looking at everybody’s work.

Conclusion

In this course I learnt a lot about the role of sound in film, as well as how to use professional equipment and softwares. I admit it was worth attending and it gave me a valuable insight into something related to my possible future career.

Creativity: 27 hours and 10 minutes

